Skip to main content

NC State Extension

North Carolina Contacts in Christmas Tree Production

en Español

El inglés es el idioma de control de esta página. En la medida en que haya algún conflicto entre la traducción al inglés y la traducción, el inglés prevalece.

Al hacer clic en el enlace de traducción se activa un servicio de traducción gratuito para convertir la página al español. Al igual que con cualquier traducción por Internet, la conversión no es sensible al contexto y puede que no traduzca el texto en su significado original. NC State Extension no garantiza la exactitud del texto traducido. Por favor, tenga en cuenta que algunas aplicaciones y/o servicios pueden no funcionar como se espera cuando se traducen.

English is the controlling language of this page. To the extent there is any conflict between the English text and the translation, English controls.

Clicking on the translation link activates a free translation service to convert the page to Spanish. As with any Internet translation, the conversion is not context-sensitive and may not translate the text to its original meaning. NC State Extension does not guarantee the accuracy of the translated text. Please note that some applications and/or services may not function as expected when translated.

Collapse ▲

North Carolina State University Specialists

Location Contact Email / Phone / Internet
MHCR&EC Jeff Owen, Area Extension Specialist
Christmas Tree Production, Extension Forestry, CNR
Email: jeff_owen@ncsu.edu
Phone: 828.684.3562
Internet: https://mountainhort.ces.ncsu.edu/staff/jowen/index.html
MHCR&EC Dr. Jill Sidebottom, Area Extension Specialist
Mountain Conifer Integrated Pest Management, Extension Forestry, CNR
Email: jill_sidebottom@ncsu.edu
Phone: 828.684.3562
Internet: //christmastrees.ces.ncsu.edu/christmastrees-jill-sidebottom

North Carolina State University Administration

Location Contact Email / Phone / Internet
College of Natural Resources (CNR) Dr. Myron F. Floyd, Dean Email: mffloyd@ncsu.edu
Internet: https://cnr.ncsu.edu/directory/myron-floyd/
CNR Dr. Robert Bardon, Assistant Dean
Extension and Engagement
Email: robert_bardon@ncsu.edu
Internet: https://www.ces.ncsu.edu/profile/robert-bardon/
CNR – Forestry and Environmental Resources Dr. Erin Sills, Interim Head Email: sills@ncsu.edu
Internet: http://cnr.ncsu.edu/erin-o-sills/
College of Agriculture and Life Sciences (CALS) Dr. Richard Linton, Dean Email: richard_linton@ncsu.edu
CALS CALS Administrative Team Internet: https://cals.ncsu.edu/about/administrative-team/

North Carolina Christmas Tree Production Counties

Alleghany County
Organization / Contact Address / Email / Phone / Internet
Alleghany Cooperative Extension Center 90 South Main Street, 3rd Floor
PO Box 7
Sparta, NC 28675
Phone: 336.372.5597
Internet: http://alleghany.ces.ncsu.edu/
  • Aaron Tompkins, Ag Agent
Email: aaron_tompkins@ncsu.edu
Phone: 336.372.5597
  • Brad Edwards, IPM Program Assistant
Email: brad_edwards@ncsu.edu
Phone: 336.846.5850
Alleghany Christmas Tree Association Internet: http://www.alleghanycta.com/
Alleghany County Evergreen Trail Christmas Farms Internet: http://www.evergreentrailchristmasfarms.com/
Ashe County
Organization / Contact Address / Email / Phone / Internet
Ashe Cooperative Extension Center 134 Government Circle, Suite 202
Jefferson, NC 28640
Phone: 336.846.5850
Internet: http://ashe.ces.ncsu.edu/
  • Travis Birdsell, County Director
Email: travis_birdsell@ncsu.edu
Phone: 336.846.5850
  • Brad Edwards, IPM Program Assistant
Email: brad_edwards@ncsu.edu
Phone: 336.846.5850
Ashe County Christmas Tree Association Internet: http://www.ashecountychristmastrees.com/
Phone: 336.846.5850
Avery County
Organization / Contact Address / Email / Phone / Internet
Avery Cooperative Extension Center 805 Cranberry Street
Newland, NC 28657
Phone: 828.733.8270
Internet: http://avery.ces.ncsu.edu/
  • Jerry Moody, County Director
Email: jerry_moody@ncsu.edu
Phone: 828.733.8270
Buncombe County
Organization / Contact Address / Email / Phone / Internet
Buncombe Cooperative Extension Center 94 Coxe Ave.
Asheville, NC 28801
Phone: 828.255.5522
Internet: http://buncombe.ces.ncsu.edu/
  • Cliff Ruth
Email:cliff_ruth@ncsu.edu
Phone: 828.255.5522
Cherokee County
Organization / Contact Address / Email / Phone / Internet
Cherokee Cooperative Extension Center 39 Peachtree St., Suite 103
Murphy, NC 28906
Phone: 828.837.2210
Internet: http://cherokee.ces.ncsu.edu/
  • Keith Wood, AG Agent
Email: keith_wood@ncsu.edu
Phone: 828.837.2910
Clay County
Organization / Contact Address / Email / Phone / Internet
Clay Cooperative Extension Center Creekside Plaza Suite 15
P.O. Box 156
Hayesville NC 28904
Phone: 828.389.6305
Internet: http://clay.ces.ncsu.edu/
  • Silas Brown, AG Agent
Email: silas_brown@ncsu.edu
Phone: 828.369.6305
Graham County
Organization / Contact Address / Email / Phone / Internet
Graham Cooperative Extension Center Smith Howell Building
39 South Main St.
P.O. Box 486
Robbinsville, NC 28771
Phone: 828.479.7979
Internet: http://graham.ces.ncsu.edu/
  • Randy Collins, AG Agent
Email: randy_collins@ncsu.edu
Phone: 828.489.7979
Haywood County
Organization / Contact Address / Email / Phone / Internet
Haywood Cooperative Extension Center P.O. Box 308
589 Raccoon Rd., Suite 118
Waynesville, NC 28786
Phone: 828.456.3575
Internet: http://haywood.ces.ncsu.edu/
  • sam marshall, AG Agent
Email: wsmarsh2@ncsu.edu
Phone: 828.456.3575
Jackson County
Organization / Contact Address / Email / Phone / Internet
Jackson Cooperative Extension Center 538 Scotts Creek Rd, Suite 205
Sylva, NC 28779
Phone: 828.586.4009
Internet: http://jackson.ces.ncsu.edu/
  • Katie Ashely, AG Agent
Email: katie_ashley@ncsu.edu
Phone: 828.586.4009 488.3848
Jackson County Christmas Tree Association Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/Jackson-County-Christmas-Tree-Association-142483155829463/
Macon County
Organization / Contact Address / Email / Phone / Internet
Macon Cooperative Extension Center Agricultural Services Center
193 Thomas Heights Rd.,
Franklin, North Carolina, 28734
Phone: 828.349.2046
Internet: http://macon.ces.ncsu.edu/
  • christy bredenkamp, County Director
Email: christine_bredenkamp@ncsu.edu
Phone: 828.349.2046
Madison County
Organization / Contact Address / Email / Phone / Internet
Madison Cooperative Extension Center P.O. Box 609
20 Bailey’s Branch Road
Marshall, NC 28753
Phone: 828.649.2411
Internet: http://madison.ces.ncsu.edu/
  • Ross Young, County Director
Email: ross_young@ncsu.edu
Phone: 828.649.2411
McDowell County
Organization / Contact Address / Email / Phone / Internet
McDowell Cooperative Extension Center 60 East Court St.
Marion, NC 28752
Phone: 828.652.8104 ext 332
Internet: http://mcdowell.ces.ncsu.edu/
  • Molly Sandfoss, County Director
Email:molly_sandfoss@ncsu.edu
Phone: 828.652.7121
Mitchell County
Organization / Contact Address / Email / Phone / Internet
Mitchell Cooperative Extension Center PO Box 366
10 S Mitchell Ave.
Bakersville, NC 28705
Phone: 828.688.4811
Internet: http://mitchell.ces.ncsu.edu/
Swain County
Organization / Contact Address / Email / Phone / Internet
Swain Cooperative Extension Center PO Box 2329
60 Almond School Road
Bryson City, NC
Phone: 828.488.3848
Internet: http://swain.ces.ncsu.edu/
  • Katie Ashely, AG Agent
Email: katie_ashley@ncsu.edu
Phone: 828.586.4009
Transylvania County
Organization / Contact Address / Email / Phone / Internet
Transylvania Cooperative Extension Center 203 E Morgan St.
Brevard, NC 28712
Phone: 828.884.3109
Internet: http://transylvania.ces.ncsu.edu/
  • Cliff Ruth, Area Ag Agent
Email: cliff_ruth@ncsu.edu
Phone: 828.697.4891
Watauga County
Organization / Contact Address / Email / Phone / Internet
Watauga Cooperative Extension Center Agricultural Services Center
971 West King Street
Boone, NC 28607
Phone: 828.264.3061
Internet: http://watauga.ces.ncsu.edu/
  • Paige Patterson, Ag Agent
Email: paige_patterson@ncsu.edu
Phone: 336.846.5850
  • Brad Edwards, IPM Program Assistant
Email: brad_edwards@ncsu.edu
  • Jim Hamilton, County Director
Email: jim_hamilton@ncsu.edu
Watauga County Christmas Tree Association Internet: http://www.wataugachristmastrees.org/
Yancey County
Organization / Contact Address / Email / Phone / Internet
Yancey Cooperative Extension Center 10 Orchard St
Burnsville, NC 28714
Phone: 828.682.6186
Internet: http://yancey.ces.ncsu.edu/
  • Ag Agent
Phone: 828.682.7687
Email:
Yancey Grown: Yancey County Christmas Tree Growers Internet: http://www.yanceygrown.com/

State Christmas Tree Associations

 
Organization Contact /Address Email / Phone / Internet
North Carolina Christmas Tree Association Jennifer Greene, Executive Director
577-3 George Wilson Rd
PO Box 1937
Boone, NC 28607
Email:info@ncchristmastrees.com
Phone: 800.562.8789
Internet: http://ncchristmastrees.com
Eastern North Carolina Christmas Tree Growers Brad Barick, Association President
Email: brad@pointpartners.biz
Phone: 910-658-8759
Internet:
http://www.nc-chooseandcut.com/ 

NC Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services

 
Location Contact /Address Email / Phone / Internet
Marketing Division Tony Haywood, Marketing Specialist
WNC Farmers Market
570 Brevard Road
Asheville, NC 28806
Email: tony.haywood@ncagr.gov
Internet: http://www.ncagr.gov/markets/facilities/markets/asheville/index.htm
Phone: 828-253-1691 ext 13
Fax: 828-252-2025
Marketing Division Zach Mussler, Marketing Specialist
Marketing Center
1020 Mail Service Center,
Raleigh NC 27699-1020
Email: zach.mussler@ncagr.gov
Internet: http://www.ncagr.gov/markets/facilities/
marketingcenters/ncdahq.htm

Phone: 919.707.3147
Fax: 919.717.0155
Marketing Division NC Green Industry Internet: http://www.ncgreenindustry.org
Marketing Division NC Farm Fresh Internet: http://www.ncfarmfresh.com
Marketing Division Got to Be NC https://www.ncfarmfresh.com/index.asp
STRUCTURAL PEST CONTROL & PESTICIDE DIVISION – PESTICDE SECTION Main website Internet: http://www.ncagr.gov/SPCAP/pesticides/index.htm
Soil Testing Section Main website Internet: https://www.ncagr.gov/agronomi/uyrst.htm
Plant Industry Division Main website http://www.ncagr.gov/plantindustry/
Plant Protection Section Main website http://www.ncagr.gov/plantindustry/plant/index.htm
Plant Protection Specialists Map http://www.ncagr.gov/plantindustry/plant/nursery/fstaff.htm
Plant Protection Specialist: spruce pine Tim Hartley
Madison-Yancey-Avery-Mitchell- Haywood
Phone: 828-260-0588
Email: Tim.Hartley@ncagr.gov
Plant Protection Specialist: Boone Chad Taylor
Alleghany-Ashe-Watauga-Caldwell-Alexander
Phone: 336-466-0478
Email: Chad.Taylor@ncagr.gov
Plant Protection Specialist: Sylva Ryan Holquist
Cherokee-Clay-Graham-Swain-Macon-Jackson
Phone: (828) 421-5445
Email: Ryan.Holquist@ncagr.gov
Plant Protection Specialist: Pisgah Forest Sue Dial
Buncombe-Henderson-Transylvania-Polk
Phone: 828-577-0915
Email: Susan.Dial@ncagr.gov
Plant Protection Specialist: Connelly Springs Amanda Cook
Burke-Catawba-McDowell-Cleveland-Rutherford
Phone: 828-443-1289
Email: Amanda.Cook@ncagr.gov
Pesticide Division Inspector Scott Few, Pesticide Inspector I Mitchell – Yancey – Madison – Buncombe – Henderson – Transylvania Haywood – Jackson – Swain – Macon – Graham – Clay – Cherokee Phone: 919.714.1058
Email: Scott.Few@ncagr.gov
Pesticide Division Inspector Charlie Jones, Pesticide Inspector I Avery – McDowell – Burke – Rutherford – Polk – Cleveland – Lincoln – Gaston Phone: 919.302.4935
Email: Charlie.Jones@ncagr.gov
Pesticide Division Inspector Eric Ball, Pesticide Inspector I Watauga – Caldwell – Alexander – Catawba – Iredell – Davie – Rowan Phone: 919.218.1935
Email: Eric.Ball@ncagr.gov
Pesticide Division Inspector Brad Boyd, Pesticide Inspector I Ashe – Alleghany – Wilkes – Surry – Yadkin – Stokes – Forsyth – Davidson Phone: 919.280.4777
Email: Brad.Boyd@ncagr.gov
Pesticide Division Inspector Charles Clark, Pesticide Inspector II Email: Charles.Clark@ncagr.gov

North Carolina Forest Service

 
Department Contact Email / Phone / Internet
NC Forest Service General Information Main webpage Internet: http://www.ncforestservice.gov/
NC Forest Service County Ranger Contacts Internet:http://www.ncforestservice.gov/Contacts/contacts_main.htm
contacts_main.htm
Forestry Store Tree Seedlings Internet: http://nc-forestry.stores.yahoo.net/
Linville River Nursery Anna Hollifield Phone: 828.733.5236
Email:  anna.hollifield@ncagr.gov
Pest Control Program Rob Trickel , Pest Control Program Head Phone: 919.733.2162 ext 256
Pest Control West Brian Heath
Craig Lawing
Email: Brian.Heath@ncagr.gov
Email: Craig.Lawing@ncagr.gov

Updated March 23, 2020

Written By

Jill Sidebottom, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionDr. Jill SidebottomExtension Specialist (Mountain Conifer IPM) Call Dr. Jill Email Dr. Jill Forestry & Environmental Resources
NC State Extension, NC State University
Page Last Updated: 12 months ago
Was the information on this page helpful? Yes check No close